Important documents of the Work and Travel, Internship/Trainee Programs

There are several main documents for the Cultural Exchange Programs (Work and Travel USA; Internship/Trainee USA programs) : DS-2019 form, J-1 visa, Job-offer (DS7002 form for the Internship/Trainee program), SEVIS I-901 form, SSN and I-94 card.

DS-2019 form

DS-2019 form (Designated Sponsorship Form) is being issued by the sponsor organization in United States of America. The form admits your permission to work officially on the territory of USA and is the main document of the Cultural Exchange programs. Without this document you will never get the J-status visa in the embassy.  Next information is presented in the DS-2019 form: your employer details during your program, the company, which organized your program on the territory of Ukraine (our company details), and your personal SEVIS number. SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor System) – is integrated database with the information about each Work and Travel or Internship/Trainee participant, including his/her  employment information, employment address, and housing address. Upon you arrival to USA, you need to register in SEVIS and leave there your housing address. Taking into the consideration the fact, that you get your visa based on your DS-2019 form, where mentioned your employment information, you need carefully make the decision about changing employer during Work and Travel Program USA (changing employer during Internship/Trainee program is prohibited, you visa will be terminated). All the issues about changing employer should be agreed with the sponsor organization and should be reasonably explained. If you employer has nothing against you leaving him, you can just inform the sponsor about the change of your placement. You need to save your DS-2019 form upon your arrival back to Ukraine, and after bring it back to our agency. Also you need to keep DS-2019 secure as well as international passport, because you will need it for applying for Social Security Card, applying for a second job and passing passport control on your way home.

J-1 visa

All the visas, issued by the council section of the United States of America embassy, are divided into different types according to the permitted period of stay on the territory of USA, aim of the trip and ability to work on the territory of USA (or absence of such ability). Participating Work and Travel and Internship/Trainee programs all the students get J-1 visa – this is Cultural Exchange visa with the official permit to work on the territory of USA (the period you can work during are stated in your DS-2019 form). If participating Work and Travel program your visa is valid in time from the moment of getting till the 1st October of the continuing year. Nevertheless, all Work and Travel participants should notice they have the official permit to work on the territory of USA till 1st September only. After 1st September  begins the “Grace period” (from 1st of September till 1st October, when participants have the permission to stay on the territory of US and travel, but don’t have permission to work any more). Maximum period of validness of J-1 visa received upon Internship/Trainee program is 18 months. Also you need to understand that it is impossible to enter USA few times with one J-1 visa, although the valid through period is not finished (that mean Work and Travel participants can not come back home for few weeks and then go to US again).

Job offer

Job offer is your employment agreement with the host company in United States of America during your Summer Work and Travel Program. This document outlines the job conditions, your salary(in most cases the wage per week mentioned, but some positions could be paid with 1-2 weeks fixed salary), the exact name of your position, clarification of your job duties, first and last name of your supervisor, number of hours per week, address of your employment and conditions of your accommodation(if one is arranged by your employer). Your job-offer is one of the most important documents visa officers take into consideration during your embassy interview, so it is a key point for you to know all the details of it.

DS-7002 form (Training Plan)

DS-7002 form – is the analog of Job-offer for the Internship/Trainee program. The host company should outline all the stages of your training in the detail form. It should contain your duties during each stage of training and what experience would you gain. Also, DS-7002 form should contain all the details about job placement (the same as job-offer), as number of hours per week, wage, details of accommodation and contacts of the host company. If you look for the Internship/Trainee placement on your own don’t forget that all the stages of your future training should correspond with your field of studying.

SEVIS I-901 form

 SEVIS I-901 form is a proof of your obligatory U.S. Department of State fee payment for Exchange visitors. The amount of that fee for Work and Travel participants equals 35 dollars, for Internship/Trainee participants – 180 dollars. Also, the form saves your DS-2019 number, therefore all your information goes to the SEVIS database. The I-901 form is the obligatory document for passing embassy interview.

Social Security Number (SSN)

Social Security Number (SSN) is your personal tax-payer number on the territory of United States of America. It is something similar to Ukrainian identification code. You will need your SSN to get paid on your main job placement and to apply for additional job placement, to open a bank account and to get tax back services after coming home. To receive your Social Security Number you need to register in SEVIS System after your arrival on the territory of USA (the information how to do that you will get in our office before your departure). After your SEVIS status become active (it would take 3-5 days after your registration) you need to go to the nearest Social Security Office (you can ask your employer for the address or find that via web). There you will be asked to fill some forms and show international passport, DS-2019 form, and in 1-3 weeks your Social Security Card (with your SSN on it) would be delivered to your address. Never forget that this number is issued only once per your life and you need to keep it for your future trips to United States, because the process of reissuance could take lots of time.

I-94 card

I-94 card is the form, which you fill during your flight to the United States of America. It would be given you by the steward. In the I-94 card you need to mention your first, last name, date of birth, passport number, the country and city of USA visa issuance, your status in the USA. The status field should be filled with “Non-immigrant”. You should show I-94 card to the officer during the passport control while entering USA, and it would be stapled into your passport. In this form officer puts your entry date and your leaving date, those dates indicates if the visa rules were violated or not. Therefore, it is very important visa officer take this form from you while you traveling back home.

Документы участников программ Work and Travel USA и Internship & Trainee

Основными документами участников программ культурного обмена (Work and Travel, Internship USA и Trainee USA) являются форма DS-2019, виза J-1, Job offer (форма DS7002 для программы Internship/Trainee),  форма SEVIS I-901, SSN и I-94 card.

Форма DS-2019

Форму DS-2019 (Designated Sponsorship Form) выдает вам спонсорская организация в США. Эта форма является вашим разрешением на работу в Штатах и основным документом, на основании которого вам открывают визу обмена в посольстве. В этой форме указывается ваш работодатель, на которого вы будете работать по программе Work and Travel, компания, которая организовала вашу поездку на территории Украины (то есть мы), и ваш персональный номер в системе SEVIS. SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor System) – это единая система учета информации о всех участниках программ Work and Travel и Internship/Trainee, в которой имеются данные о вашем работодателе, адресе работы, а также вам необходимо по приезду оставить там данные о своем месте проживания. Учитывая, что виза вам дается на основании вашего разрешения на работу, в котором указано данные вашего работодателя, вам необходимо очень осторожно принимать все решения, которые связанные со сменой работы на территории США по программе Work and Travel USA (по программам Internship/Trainee такая смена совсем не допускается).  Все вопросы, связанные со сменой места работы необходимо согласовать с вашим спонсором и при этом указать причины, в случае же когда ваш работодатель сам согласен на то, чтобы вы его покинули, можно просто проинформировать спонсора о новом месте работы. Форму DS-2019 необходимо сохранять до возвращения на территорию Украины, а после приезда вернуть ее нам. Также эту форму необходимо очень бережно сохранять, как и загранпаспорт, так как они вам понадобятся при получении Social Security Card, дополнительном трудоустройстве и прохождение паспортного контроля при выезде со Штатов.

Виза J-1

Все визы, которые выдает консульский отдел посольства США, делятся на определенные типы, в зависимости от возможного срока пребывания на территории Соединенных Штатов, цели поездки и возможности работать в США (либо отсутствии такой возможности). По программам Work and Travel USA и Trainee/Internship USA все участники получают визу J-1 – это виза культурного обмена с правом на трудоустройство на ограниченный период (период, который вы имеете право работать на территории США, указывается в форме DS-2019). По программе Work and Travel USA виза J-1 ограничена по срокам от момента ее получения, до 1 октября текущего года.

Участникам программы Work and Travel USA необходимо знать, что официальное право на работу на территории США у них есть только до 1 сентября, после этого наступает “Grace period” (период с 1 сентября по 1 октября, когда участники программы Work and Travel USA имеют право находиться на территории США и путешествовать, но уже не имеют права официально работать).  Максимальный срок действия визы J-1 по программе Internship/Trainee USA составляет 18 месяцев. Также необходимо понимать, что нельзя дважды въехать не территорию США по визе J-1, если даже срок ее действия еще не истек (то есть, у участников программы Work and Travel USA нет возможности посреди лета прилететь домой на пару дней и снова улететь обратно в Штаты).

Job offer

Job offer – это ваше приглашение на работу от принимающей компании в США по программе Work and Travel USA. В этом документе описываются условия вашей работы, заработная плата (чаще всего ставка почасовой оплаты труда, но иногда бывают позиции, на которых работодатель оплачивает фиксированную зарплату за 1-2 недели), точное название позиции, что будет входить в ваши обязанности, имя и фамилия вашего менеджера, количество часов, которые вы будете работать в неделю, адреса и контакты принимающей стороны и условия проживания (если работодатель предоставляет жилье), в тех случаях, когда работодатель этого не делает, он всегда поможет вам найти жилье. Ваш Job offer является одним из основных документов, на которые обращают внимание визовые офицеры на собеседовании в консульском отделе посольства США, поэтому необходимо детально его изучить перед прохождением интервью в посольстве.

Форма DS-7002 (Training Plan)

Форма DS-7002 – это аналог Job offer’а только для программы Internship и программы Trainee. В этой форме принимающая компания должна подробно описать стадии вашей стажировки, какие обязанности у вас будут на каждом этапе, и какой опыт вы сможете приобрести. Также форма  DS-7002 должна содержать все те же данные по работе, что и Job offer для участника программы Work and Travel USA, а именно количество рабочих часов в неделю, заработную плату, условия проживания и контакты принимающей стороны. В случае, если вы сами ищете себе работодателя по программе Internship/Trainee необходимо помнить, что все стадии стажировки, описанные в этой форме должны максимально отвечать вашей специальности.

Форма SEVIS I-901

Форма SEVIS I-901 – это подтверждение вашей оплаты обязательного сбора Госдепартамента США для всех участников программ обмена. Для участников Work and Travel USA размер этого сбора составляет 35 долларов США, для участников Internship/Trainee – 180 долларов США. Также в этой форме сохраняется номер вашей формы DS-2019 и таким образом в единую информационную систему SEVIS передаются все ваши данные. Форма SEVIS I-901 является необходимым документом для прохождения интервью на получение визы в посольстве США.

Social Security Number (SSN)

Social Security Number (SSN) – это ваш персональный номер налогоплательщика на территории США. Он является аналогом украинскому идентификационному коду. SSN необходим для получения зарплаты, для открытия банковского счета и для возврата налогов после возвращения домой. Для того, чтобы получить Social Security Number, вам необходимо зарегистрироваться в SEVIS по приезду в США (информацию как это сделать вы получите у нас в офисе перед отлетом). Через 3-5 дней (после того как ваш статус в SEVIS станет активным) обратиться в ближайший Social Security Office (его адрес можно узнать у работодателя либо найти в интернете), в котором необходимо будет предоставить загранпаспорт, форму DS-2019. Через 1-3 недели Social Security Card, на которой будет указан ваш SSN, придет на указанный вами адрес (либо ваш домашний адрес в США, либо адрес работодателя). Также не забывайте, что этот номер присваивается один раз на всю жизнь, поэтому его необходимо сохранять для последующих поездок в США, потому как процесс его восстановления может забрать довольно много времени.

Форма I-94 card

I-94 card – это форма, которую вы заполняете в самолете во время перелета в США. Ее будут раздавать стюардессы. В I-94 необходимо будет заполнить такие данные как: имя, фамилия, дата рождения, серия и номер загранпаспорта, в какой стране и в каком городе вы получили визу, а также ваш статус в США. В разделе статус необходимо написать “Non-immigrant”. I-94 card необходимо показать офицеру, при прохождение паспортного контроля. Эта форма остается у вас в паспорте до вылета домой. Именно в этой форме проставляются даты вашего прибытия на территорию США и убытия, и по этой форме сверяется, не просрочили ли вы свою визу. Именно поэтому важно, чтобы визовый офицер забрал у вас эту форму, когда вы будете лететь домой.