U.S. employment during Work and Travel Program

U.S. employment for the students. Making right choice of your employment is very important for you, because it influence the amount of money you will gain during the summer.

Obviously, students have their job assignments in the area of hospitality – hotels, restaurants, markets, amusement parks. (see more information in the page ‘Types of Work’). Your work schedule intends to have 40 working hours per week, so you will work 5 days 8 hours per day in most cases. Lots of employers give the opportunity to work overtime, and the wage rate for those hours is a half times higher. Important to understand that overtime is not obligatory. The minimum wage for Work and Travel jobs is 7.25 dollars per hour, the average – 7-9 dollars per hour.

Some jobs are tipped (in most cases the wait stuff, and hotel stuff), so the wage could be here in the area of 2-3 dollars per hour. But taking to consideration the fact, that waiter can make up to 200 dollars of tips per evening, such job would be more payable than one with wage more than 9 dollars per hour.

While choosing your job, take a look if the employer provides free (or cheap) housing and food. It would also make such job more preferable.

In most cases students get their first salary in two weeks via paycheck. It could be cashed in the bank, or deposited into the bank account.

According to program rules, students can work more than one job. Average salary would make from 400 to 500 dollars per week. Of course, it is not a limit – some students work 80 hours per week and make 1000 dollars per week. That is why, you should combine correct your work and rest time, so to bring home not only money, but also lots of bright impressions.

Each participant has two options of program employment:

  1. our agency looks for the employment;
  2. participant looks for the employment on his/her own.

First option is simple and clear. If the participant decides to look for a job on his/her own, some tips would be useful.

Of course, if you going the second time to the employer from previous summer, you will not have any difficulties. If you are a first-timer, but nevertheless, decided to look for a job by yourself (that makes a price of a program much lower), some web links would be useful for you.

http://www.j1jobs.com – website with the jobs for J-1 students.

http://www.coolworks.com/ - website for job search on the resorts, beaches, ranches and amusement parks

http://www.seasonalemployment.com/  - website with the seasonal jobs

http://www.overseasjobs.com/  - website with the seasonal and part-time jobs

http://www.fishingjobs.com/ - website with Alaska jobs

www.yellowpages.com – here you could find company’s you are interested in infos.

For the job searching participant will need to compose CV and Cover letter – motivation letter to the employer. Those documents should be composed the way, in which they would get employer’s attention.

We recommend not to buy job-offers from unknown people in internet (for example from social networks, chats and so on), because we can’t guarantee you’ll have a placement after you will come to USA in that case, and nobody will refund your money.

Also you should remember about program’s restrictions while looking for a job: J-1 students can’t work in families, on sea ships, on airplanes, with children, in medicine and in the area of adult entertainment.

If our company confirmed the employment, that was found by you, it does not guarantee you will have indicated in your job offer conditions after arrival. But anyway, the choice is yours.

Поиск работы в США по программе Work and Travel

Работа в США для студентов. Выбор работы важен для любого участника программы Work & Travel, поскольку именно от этого выбора зависит, сколько ты заработаешь за лето.

Чаще всего студенты работают в сфере обслуживания – отелях, ресторанах, магазинах, парках развлечений (подробнее о каждой вакансии можешь прочитать в разделе с вакансиями Work and Travel в США). Продолжительность работы в течение недели составляет 40 часов, те 5 рабочих дней по 8 часов и два выходных. Многие работодатели дают студентам возможность работать сверхурочно, при этом за каждый час сверх нормы платят в полтора раза больше (это называется Overtime).  Важно помнить, что работа сверх рабочего времени не обязательна. Минимальная зарплата – 7.25 долларов в час, а в среднем студенты получают  7-9 долларов.

На работах, которые предусматривают чаевые (в основном официанты или работники отелей), ставка может составлять 2-3 доллара. Если учесть, что в США официант может за день получить до 200 долларов чаевых, такая вакансия будет выглядеть даже более выгодной, чем работа с зарплатой больше 9 долларов за час.

Кроме зарплаты стоит обратить внимание на то, что некоторые работодатели предоставляют бесплатное (или дешевое) жилье и питание.

Первую зарплату студенты чаще всего получают через две недели в виде банковского чека, который можно либо обналичить, либо положить на свой банковский счет.

По условиям программы у студента есть возможность работать на нескольких работах. В среднем студенты зарабатывают от 400 до 500 долларов в неделю. Это, конечно, не предел – есть ребята, которые работают по 80 часов, те зарабатывают около 1000 долларов в неделю. Тут главное – оптимально совместить работу и отдых, чтобы привезти домой не только деньги, но и яркие впечатления.

У каждого участника есть два варианта оформления программы:

  1. когда вакансию для участника ищем мы;
  2. участник самостоятельно ищет работу в США.

С первым вариантом все понятно и просто.  Если же студент решил выбрать второй вариант, т.е. искать работу самостоятельно, ему, скорее всего, понадобятся наши советы.

Конечно, если ты едешь второй раз к тому же работодателю, у которого работал прошлым летом, у тебя не должно возникнуть трудностей. Если же это будет твоя первая летняя работа в США, но ты, тем не менее, решил искать вакансию самостоятельно (что сделает стоимость программы значительно меньше), то тебе могут понадобиться ссылки на сайты, с помощью которых ты сможешь найти работу на лето.

http://www.j1jobs.com – сайт для поиска работы по программам обмена J-1

http://www.coolworks.com/ - сайт для поиска работ на курортах, пляжах, ранчо, в парках развлечений

http://www.seasonalemployment.com/  - сайт по сезонным работам

http://www.overseasjobs.com/  - сезонные и part-time работы

http://www.fishingjobs.com/ - поиск работы на Аляске

www.yellowpages.com – желтые страницы (в них можно найти данные компании, которая тебя интересует).

Для самостоятельного поиска работы участнику потребуется написать резюме и Cover letter – сопроводительное письмо к работодателю. Эти документы должны быть составлены так, чтоб работодатель обратил внимание именно на тебя.

Мы не рекомендуем покупать работу у незнакомых людей в интернете (например, Вконтакте, в чатах и т.д.), поскольку никто не гарантирует участнику, что там будет эта или вообще какая-либо работа, а деньги за такой offer у вас точно потребуют.

Стоит помнить об ограничениях по программам обмена – участники J-1 не могут работать в семьях, на морских судах и самолетах, с детьми, в медицине, в сфере взрослых развлечений.

Если наша фирма подтвердила контракт на работу, который участник нашел самостоятельно, – это не дает стопроцентной гарантии, что на работе в Штатах будут условия, которые написаны в вашем Job-offer. Но, в любом случае, выбор всегда за вами!