Your Accommodation in the USA

As always you have the opportunity to choose from two options  :-)

First one – the housing is provided by your employer, the second one – you look for a housing on your own.

Students, who participate the Work and Travel program for the first time, obviously choose the fist option, which have pre-arranged housing. If the employer provides your accommodation, it is written in the job-offer. The rent will be from 100 up to 400-450 dollars per month. The highest rent will be found in resort cities and New York. For that amount of money you will rent a room with 1 to 3 roommates. Sometimes employer provides housing for free. For example, students, who work in hotel could live in the same hotel’s rooms.

If you choose second option and your employer doesn’t provide housing, you can look for it either from Ukraine (via Internet) or after arrival in the USA. Also you can ask your employer via phone where you can live during the program and where other participants obviously live during the program. You can arrange your housing with the help of websites:

www.roommates.com

www.craigslist.org

If you decide to look for housing after your arrival, you need to find a hostel or a hotel for a few days. You can look for your accommodation in the magazine posts, or if staying in the resort city you can find ‘For Rent’ signs on the houses, which you can rent or rent a room in.

If you are traveling with a group of 5 or more students, you can rent a house. Even if you are traveling alone or with one friend, there is always a possibility to find other students, who rent a house and are looking for roommates. If you don’t succeed in finding other participants to rent a house, you always can rent an apartment.

Проживание в США

Как всегда у вас есть два варианта :-)

Первый – жилье предоставляет работодатель, второй – жилье вы ищете самостоятельно.

Студенты, которые участвуют в программе Work and Travel впервые, отдают предпочтение выбору вакансии, по которой предоставляется жилье. Если работодатель предоставляет жилье, это обязательно прописывается в Job-offer. Арендная плата будет составлять от 100 до 400-450 долларов в месяц. Самая дорогая стоимость аренды в курортных городах и в Нью-Йорке. Скорее всего, это будет комната, в которой живет от одного до четырех человек. Иногда жилье предоставляется бесплатно, например,  для работников отеля – это может быть номер в этом отеле.

Если работодатель не предоставляет жилье, его можно искать как из Украины (по Интернету), так и по прибытию в США. Так же можно спросить по телефону у работодателя о том, где вы сможете жить летом, и где обычно живут участники программы. Для поиска можете воспользоваться сайтами:

www.roommates.com

www.craigslist.org

Если вы решили искать жильё уже по приезду в Штаты, вам необходимо будет пару дней пожить в отеле или хостеле. Искать же его можно будет по газетным объявлениям, либо, если это курортный городок, вы можете увидеть таблички For Rent на домах, которые сдаются, либо в которых сдаются комнаты.

Если вы едете компанией из пяти или больше человек, вы можете снять дом. Если же вы едете сами или вдвоем, есть возможность найти компанию студентов, которая снимает дом и ищет соседей, например, ваши сотрудники-участники программ обмена. Либо же вы можете снять квартиру (apartment).